top of page
  • Writer's pictureAntonella Mastrolonardo

Capstone GLM

Updated: Jun 30, 2022

One of my dreams is to be able to help children fulfill their dreams. Working with the children has been a challenging but fun experience. I have had to deal with different types of children with different backgrounds. Since 2021 that I have been working at Doral Legacy Park, I had the opportunity to work with children of different ages. At first, I had to be a flag football instructor with the 5–7-year-old child. In this opportunity I learned a lot from the kids, because of their age they are starting to develop their own beliefs that it was fun to be able to hear them. Then I got to be an instructor for children ages 3-5, giving them the opportunity to help them develop their skills. In these challenging opportunity I was able to interact with their parents too. In the class I had different types of children's with different backgrounds. Throughout this experience and being able to observe the grow and behavior of these children, I was able to notice that each of these children had different strategies to improve their skills. I realize that children's with Latinos' parents were able to complete the assignment quicker, their manually skills were more advance. As a matter of fact, they knew how to cut, paste from an early age. Talking with the parents, they told me that in their countries they tend to teach their little kids crafts from very early age. Children with American and Arab backgrounds tended to complete their assignment a little by little, they will listen carefully and pay attention. Parents in this case tend not to be so hard on them. Being able to participate with the children in different activities, I was able to conclude that each child has different ways of learning, different learning strategies and many times this comes as a result of the their parents background.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page